Skip to content
December 19, 2014 / weavingschool

Weaving Collections

When I walk, I pick up things that interest me. Found metal scraps hold a particular interest since they have been shaped by time and the elements. And metal is lasting. This summer I learned how to weave with fishing line thanks to a class from Anastasia Azure at the Appalachian Center for Craft. The fishing line shapes itself around whatever I put into the weft. I love the way it suspends the pieces as if in mid air, creating shadows on the wall behind the piece. Things in this piece were picked up in TN, Thailand, and New Orleans a year or so after Katrina, plus other places I happened to be in my travels.
Geri Forkner_ScuptureWPhoto by my talented cousin Janice Rubin

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.