Skip to content
June 2, 2015 / weavingschool

Installing a Show

I am part of the Southeast Fiber Arts Alliance – SEFAA Continuous Threads 200 Years of Georgia Textiles exhibit hosted by the Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center – GEHC. Wow, now that that mouth full is written, yesterday I installed my pieces with plenty of help from SEFAA and the GEHC staff. I was in for a big surprise when I drove up to the Center. The building is new, huge, modern, with a green roof, beautiful exhibits and is surrounded by multiple nature trails. It was the first day of summer camp so there were lots of children filling up the spaces.
The last time I showed these two pieces was in Thailand at Rangsit University’s art gallery where there is all the space I want to use. The “Underwater Coral Reef” is an instillation piece so it’s size and layout is adaptable to the space available. Hanging “Under Scrutiny” is a straight forward no brainer, but the “Underwater Coral Reef” was more challenging.  It is always interesting to see how moving one of the pieces even an inch or two can change everything. We added and removed the felted elements, stretched the knitted pieces in multiple directions, and even threaded the electrical connection through the wall. I always hold my breath until I’m sure the arduino is going to do it’s job and drive the LEDs properly.
SEFAA was started after I left Atlanta but the Chattahoochee Handweavers Guild will always draw me back to my home of 22 years and my many fiber friends. I am honored to be part of this show.

Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center

Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center

Display inside the Center

Display inside the Center

Out of the boxes

Out of the boxes

Threading wire through the wall

Threading wire through the wall

Underwater Coral Reef

Underwater Coral Reef

Under Scrutiny

Under Scrutiny

Leave a Reply

