Skip to content
June 19, 2015 / weavingschool

Rare Event 2 in 1 week

This week I attended the second opening of a show that included some of my art work. One of the map pieces I’ve been working on lately was accepted into the Arts in the Airport show at the Knoxville, TN airport. My granddaughter went as my guest. Here she is posing by my piece on the left.

Hazel and Merging Maps

Hazel and Merging Maps

Show introduction

Show introduction

Remarks by Knoxville Arts and Culture Alliance

Remarks by Knoxville Arts and Culture Alliance

This is the Merging Maps entry. It is made entirely of things I already have. I’ve been on a “no buying of supplies” gig for a couple of years. It sort of works. I used free motion machine stitching to connect several maps then cut inbetween the “roadways.” The resulting web was elevated on push pins over other stitched and woven maps.
MergingMapsW

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Veronica / Jun 20 2015 11:15 pm

    Very interesting!

    • weavingschool / Jun 21 2015 1:15 pm

      thanks, Veronica. Let’s get together after Shakerag. Immediately.

Leave a Reply

