Skip to content
October 23, 2015 / weavingschool

Less is More

LichenWWhen it comes to felt, it seems that less is more. I’ve been working with more controlled samples lately, measuring the square inches and working with small measured amounts of wool –  even though I want everything to be intuitive it is time to do some measuring and note taking. I wanted to try using some commercial lace and even though I was skeptical that the tiny amount of fiber I was using would even attach to the polyester lace (purists please forgive me). I found that it did, and not only that the nearly 50% shrinkage gave some amazing results witnessed by what I photographed it with in the woods on the walk from my studio to my house.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Barbara Hoepp / Oct 26 2015 12:16 pm

    Wish you had more photos. Would love to see your process.

    • weavingschool / Oct 27 2015 11:05 am

      The process hasn’t changed: shingle, wet, roll. All I changed for this sample was to use less wool and roll longer. The less wool, the harder it is to make the felting happen but the more texture you get. Love hearing from you by the way.

Leave a Reply

