Skip to content
January 1, 2024 / weavingschool

Plethora

Writing is painful for me. Words have one meaning, their nuances escape me. I can’t spell, I’ve been asking my granddaughter how to spell words since she was in third grade. My children, who do understand the nuances of words, hear things I don’t mean. When we play Bananagrams, I’m the champion of three letter words while the other players have strings of seven and eight letter words. Spell check has been a godsend to me, but there are times it can’t even get close enough to come up with the spelling I need. I must have been asleep when we were taught the vowel sounds in first grade. I write run on sentences and use too many commas.
So all that being said, the word “plethora” jumped into my head this morning when I was thinking of hanging the final strip on this year’s daily weavings and embarking on the 20th year of something I started on a whim. I certainly have a plethora of daily weavings. The past number of years starting with the pandemic, I’ve been layering each successive strip over others. They are piling up, covering up past years events. Of course I can’t remember each and every one of 6935 different weavings. At my age, I can’t even remember what I had for breakfast or what I came upstairs to get. Some do stand out of course, and looking back over the strips brings some great memories and some angry ones as well. A lot of water under the bridge in 19 years.

Notes:
https://bananagrams.com/products/bananagrams
plethora: (a plethora of) a large or excessive amount of (something)
365 x 19 = 6935

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.