Skip to content
August 2, 2016 / weavingschool

Packed and Ready

Convergence Milwaukee here I come. Tomorrow – early – I’m leaving for Convergence. If you don’t already know, Convergence is the Handweaver’s Guild of America’s “ultimate international fiber art experience”.
I’ll be teaching two classes about my newest passion, “crafting electricity” (a term coined by Leah Buechley). One thing I’ve learned in this new – to me – world is that it’s all about collaboration. Engineers collaborating with Fashion Designers, wrap your head around that. Check this link for a mock up of the led lights on my nuno felted vest on display at the teacher’s exhibit at Convergence. It couldn’t have been possible without the help of my friend Karen Bills, an engineer who understands programing and helped me with the arduino code running the Lily Pad. She not only taught me about arrays, and random, but shares my love of all things fiber. Another talented artist friend, Jane Bawn, custom made the glass buttons for the vest.
I’m excited to be introducing some folks to this new limitless world. Who knows what new collaborations will happen.

EllenVest2W

Leave a Reply

